ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA)


The Agreement Establishing the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (Agreement) was signed by the Economic Ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Australia and New Zealand on 27 February 2009 in Cha-am, Phetchaburi, Thailand.

Implementing Executive Orders

The following E.O.s implement the Philippines’ tariff commitments under the AANZFTA:

  1. (1) E.O. 851 (s. 2009) - provides the Philippines’ schedule of tariff commitments from 2010 until 2020; the AANZFTA preferential tariffs take effect starting 01 January of every year
  2. (2) E.O. 191 (s. 2015) – modifies the AANZFTA tariffs on certain agricultural products as part of Philippine commitments pursuant to the World Trade Organization Decision on the Waiver Relating to the Special Treatment (ST) for Rice of the Philippines, reinstating said ST until 30 June 2017

Pursuant to Section 1100 of the Customs Modernization and Tariff Act, an importer or exporter may file a written application for an advance ruling on the tariff classification of goods with the Commission.

Submission of Certificate of Origin Form AANZ is required in order to avail of AANZFTA preferential tariffs.

Date of Full Implementation


Overview of Tariff Commitments

Each Party shall progressively reduce and/or eliminate customs duties on originating goods of the other Parties in accordance with its schedule of tariff commitments.

See Chapter 2 (Trade in Goods) of the Agreement.


Please visit for any future amendments to the Agreement.