ASEAN-India Free Trade Area (AIFTA)


The Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Cooperation between the Republic of India and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) (Framework Agreement) was signed by the Heads of Government/State of the ASEAN Member States and the Republic of India on 08 October 2003 in Bali, Indonesia, while the Protocol to Amend the Framework Agreement (Protocol) was signed by the Economic Ministers on 13 August 2009 in Bangkok, Thailand.

Implementing Executive Order

E.O. 25 (s. 2011) provides the Philippines’ schedule of tariff commitments from 2010 until 2022. The tariff rates take effect on the following dates:

  1. (1)   01 January of 2010 to 2017;
  2. (2)   01 January and 31 December 2018;
  3. (3)   01 January and 31 December 2019;
  4. (4)   01 January of 2020 to 2021; and
  5. (5)   01 January and 31 December 2022.

Pursuant to Section 1100 of the Customs Modernization and Tariff Act, an importer or exporter may file a written application for an advance ruling on the tariff classification of goods with the Commission.

Submission of Certificate of Origin Form AI is required in order to avail of AIFTA preferential tariffs.

Date of Full Implementation


Overview of Tariff Commitments

Tariff reduction/elimination is composed of two tracks:

  1. (1) Normal Track
  2. (2) Sensitive Track

See Article 3 (Trade in Goods) of the Framework Agreement. See the Protocol too as well as the Agreement on Trade in Goods Under the Framework Agreement (TIG Agreement).


Please visit for any future amendments to the Agreements and Protocol.